South Cotabato’s grandeur, exotic wilderness, and cultural heritage suggest good potentials for the development of local tourism industry that is environment-friendly. Aside from being an agricultural eden, South Cotabato has also a variety of natural attractions both local and foreign tourist should not miss to complete an adventure filled itenerary.

South Cotabato offers wide opportunities for Tourism and Service development. The area is blessed with mountain ranges, natural caves, mountain lakes, waterfalls, forest, and springs. The municipalities of Lake Sebu and T’boli are well-known for the cultural heritage and crafts of its indigenous T’boli and B’laan communities. The scenic Mt Matutum, El Gawel Resort and Wildlife Sanctuary, Lake Sebu, Lake Maughan and Mt. Parker, Paraiso Cluster Tourism Center, and the Seven Falls offer unrivalled vistas for ecologically minded and culturally sensitive visitors


The province of South Cotabato came into existence thru the Republic Act No. 4839 which was approved on July 4, 1966. It functioned as a regular province on January 1, 1968 and entered as PDAP province on February 4,1979. It is classified as First Class A province with a total land area of 769,712 hectares and approximately 3,000 sq. miles.

Marbel or Koronadal is the capital town of South Cotabato and is the seat of political, social and economic activities. It is considered a melting pot being peopled by citizens from different parts of the country - Ilocanos, Ilonggo, Tagalogs and Bicolanos. The word "Koronadal" is believed to be the union of two Maguindanao words - Koron or Kalon meaning cogon grass and Nal or Dalal meaning plain - an apt description of the place as first seen by natives. Marbel is a bilaan term which means "murky waters". The place being populated by Bilaans and Maguindanaoans each tribe has its own name for it. The newly created municipality with a total land area of 89,139 hectares or approximately 891.39 sq. km. Malungon has 87, 200 hectares area, Malapatan with an area of 84,000 hectares and Tantangan, with only 12,600 hectares.

Major dialect are Ilonggo and Ilocano. Tดboli is mostly spoken in the hinterlands. There is also a mixture of Cebuano, Tagalog and Waray-Waray.

South Cotabato is largely an agricultural province. Its fertile valleys and the presence of mountain ranges has kept South Cotabato from typhoons or tropical depressions. In Koronadal, 54% or approximately 15,450 hectares of the total land area is devoted to agriculture. The major crops are rice, corn, coconut, pineapple and bananas, though 50% of the total farm area is devoted to rice. South Cotabato is also known for fishing industry because of its rich fishing grounds particularly Sarangani Bay. Fresh-water fishes are also cultures in Lake Sebu.

Back to the Top 


  Information provided by Department of Tourism. Government of Philippines.


Home | Bhutan | Brunei | Cambodia | China-Yunnan | East Timor | Hong Kong | India | Indonesia | Japan | Kazakstan | Korea | Kyrgystan | Laos | Malaysia Maldives | Mongolia | Myanmar | Nepal | Pakistan | Philippines | Singapore | Sri Lanka | Tajikistan | Taiwan | Thailand | Tibet | Turkmenistan | Vietnam Uzbekistan


Website partner : and Hotels around Asia.
Version Francaise :

Copyright © 2002 Orasia co.,ltd. ( All rights reserved. Reproduction without permission prohibited.