Calbayog , Western Samar


During the early days of Spanish rule, Samar Island was under the jurisdiction of the bishopric of Cebu. In 1735, Samar and Leyte were merged to form one province. Three years later, Samar was separated from Leyte, and Catbalogan became its capital. At June 19, 1965 Samar Island was divided into three provinces: Northern Samar, Eastern Samar and Western Samar. The name of Western Samar was changed to Samar on June 21, 1969.


Waray is the lingua franca here as in the rest of the province but many people are conversant in English and a great deal of sign language.

As an agriculture province, the most important products are coconut, rice, corn and abaca. There are a few large industries such mining, jellyfish processing and logging. Samar Province has the largest marble reserves in the region. Large-scale drying and salting of fish are done in Catbalogan for consumers in upland areas and the Manila market. Cottage industries include woodcraft, shell craft, basket-weaving and abaca processing.

Back to the Top 


  Information provided by Department of Tourism. Government of Philippines.


Home | Bhutan | Brunei | Cambodia | China-Yunnan | East Timor | Hong Kong | India | Indonesia | Japan | Kazakstan | Korea | Kyrgystan | Laos | Malaysia Maldives | Mongolia | Myanmar | Nepal | Pakistan | Philippines | Singapore | Sri Lanka | Tajikistan | Taiwan | Thailand | Tibet | Turkmenistan | Vietnam Uzbekistan


Website partner : and Hotels around Asia.
Version Francaise :

Copyright © 2002 Orasia co.,ltd. ( All rights reserved. Reproduction without permission prohibited.