Cagayan de Oro / Misamis Oriental

Dubbed as the "City of Golden Friendship," Cagayan de Oro City is located along Macalajar Bay in the Central Coast of Northern Mindanao and serves as a regional center for Region 10.

Some of the city’s main attractions are the spectacular Catanico Falls, Macahambus Cave and Gorge, the Shell Museum and a stretch of beautiful beaches. Cagayan de Oro is fast gaining an image as the most favored convention center in Southern Philippines. Now, it takes pride in its latest premier attraction -the Gardens of Malasag Eco - Tourism Village.

Misamis Oriental used to be a part of Cebu. In 1818, it became a "conregimento" comprised of 4 "partidos" or divisions; namely, Partido de MIsamis, Partido de Dapitan, Partido de Cagayan and Partido de Catarman. During the latter part of the 19th century, Misamis was one of the 6 districts of Mindanao, and later, one of the seven districts in Mindanao and Sulu at the close of the Spanish era with Cagayan de Misamis, now Cagayan de Oro, as its capital. When it was still a part of the district of Cebu, there were 12 Spaniards and 9 Filipinos who successively served as "governadore" with Mayor Carabello as the first governor in 1874.

Legislative Act. No. 3537, approved in November 2, 1929, divided the province of Misamis into two provinces due to the lack of geographical contiguity: Misamis Oriental and Misamis Occidental. However, it was not until 10 years later that the division was implemented by an amendment, Act. No. 3777, adopted on November 28,1939. When Misamis Oriental became a separate province, Don Gregorio Pelaez was its first Governor. Since then, there were 14 past governors who were elected and appointed by operation of law.

The earliest known settlers of the territory were the Negritoes. Centuries later, Malay colonists with Mongoloid features, fought the natives for the control of the rich Cagayan River coastal plains. The struggle for possession has finally won the native Visayans over the Bukidnons. In the 1500ดs most of the Mindanao area had fallen under the Muslim and the inhabitants were converted into Islam. As part of Mindanao, the people of the territory were obliged to pay tribute to the Muslim rule.

Back to the Top 


  Information provided by Department of Tourism. Government of Philippines.


Home | Bhutan | Brunei | Cambodia | China-Yunnan | East Timor | Hong Kong | India | Indonesia | Japan | Kazakstan | Korea | Kyrgystan | Laos | Malaysia Maldives | Mongolia | Myanmar | Nepal | Pakistan | Philippines | Singapore | Sri Lanka | Tajikistan | Taiwan | Thailand | Tibet | Turkmenistan | Vietnam Uzbekistan


Website partner : and Hotels around Asia.
Version Francaise :

Copyright © 2002 Orasia co.,ltd. ( All rights reserved. Reproduction without permission prohibited.