Travel International

Nepal’s national airline is Royal Nepal Airlines (RA). It operates flights to Bangkok, Bangalore, Calcutta, Delhi, Frankfurt/M, Hong Kong, Mumbai, Osaka, Paris, London, Shanghai and Singapore. Other airlines operating to Kathmandu include Aeroflot (Moscow), Biman Bangladesh Airlines (Dakha), China South West Airlines (Lhasa), Condor Airlines (Munich), Druk Air (Paro), Gulf Air (Abu Dhabi), Indian Airlines (Delhi, Calcutta, Varanasi), Lauda Air (Vienna), Necon Air (Patna, Varanasi), Pakistan International Airlines (Karachi), Qatar Airways (Doha), Singapore Airlines (Singapore), Thai International (Bangkok) and Transavia (Amsterdam via Sharjah).

Approximate flight times : From Kathmandu to London is 10 hours 15 minutes.

International airports :
Kathmandu (KTM) (Tribhuvan) is 6.5km (4 miles) east of the city (travel time – 20 minutes). Buses and taxis to the city are available. Airport facilities include bank/bureau de change, duty-free shop, post office, refreshments and tourist information.

Departure tax :
NRs700 for international flights (NRs600 within the Indian sub-continent, eg Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Pakistan and Sri Lanka). Children under two years are exempt.

Note :
Foreign nationals must pay for airfares in foreign currency. Only Nepalese and Indian nationals are allowed to pay in Nepalese Rupees for air passage between Nepal and India.

Two stretches of the Indian Railway Line run to the border with Nepal, where cycle-rickshaws are available for onward journeys.

Kathmandu is connected with India and Tibet by new and picturesque highways through the fertile plains of the Terai. Bus services operate from all border points to Kathmandu. However, during the monsoon season, landslides can often make border points impassable. Visitors are permitted to drive their own cars provided they are in possession of an international carnet. For information on how to obtain an international carnet, visitors should contact their national Automobile Association. See also Travel - Internal section for required documentation.

Note :
All visitors entering Nepal by land must use one of the following entry points: Belhiya (Bhairahawa), Birgunj, Dhangadi, Kakarbhitta, Mahendra Nagar and Nepalgunj, (all on the Nepal-India border); and Kodari (on the Nepal-China border). If entering overland by car, an international carnet is required (enquire at Embassy for details); see Contact Addresses section.

Back to the Top 


Information provided by Nepal Tourism Board.


Home | Bhutan | Brunei | Cambodia | China-Yunnan | East Timor | Hong Kong | India | Indonesia | Japan | Kazakstan | Korea | Kyrgystan | Laos | Malaysia Maldives | Mongolia | Myanmar | Nepal | Pakistan | Philippines | Singapore | Sri Lanka | Tajikistan | Taiwan | Thailand | Tibet | Turkmenistan | Vietnam Uzbekistan


Website partner : and Hotels around Asia.
Version Francaise :

Copyright © 2002 Orasia co.,ltd. ( All rights reserved. Reproduction without permission prohibited.